WinPcd V1.105

Questions and discussion about the Windows version of PCD
Jeff S.
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm
Location: Erie, PA

WinPcd V1.105

Post by Jeff S. » Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:27 am

Dave, when loading a saved file for a 3-way the mid FRD doesn't load. Looking at the saved csp file the mid frd is not listed. Had the same problem in v4. On the plus side I do like having the power response. Thanks again for all your hard work.

User avatar
dlr
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Canton, MA
Contact:

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Post by dlr » Tue Aug 27, 2013 11:34 am

That's curious. I've been using reload for 2-way and 3-way for most of my testing and have not had any issues. Is there any message of any kind? Does the impedance file load? I'll look into it, see if I can replicate it. I've had no issues since implementing it.

I just looked at one of mine. All three drivers are listed. The only empty lines are those for the second midrange and second woofer, which I am not using for that project.

Dave

User avatar
dlr
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Canton, MA
Contact:

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Post by dlr » Tue Aug 27, 2013 12:14 pm

I changed the topic to the full version number, since all of this is in v1.1 at the moment. There may at some point be a v1.5 or even a v5. This is to help prevent any confusion.

Dave

Jeff S.
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm
Location: Erie, PA

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Post by Jeff S. » Tue Aug 27, 2013 7:07 pm

I get a message when selecting 3-way parallel that say's "Not yet implemented."
The following is the bottom of the csp file.

C:\A Speaker Designs\Kids\Vifa BC25SC06-04 In Box.frd
C:\A Speaker Designs\Kids\Vifa BC25SC06-04 In Box.zma
*
C:\A Speaker Designs\Kids\Peerless 832444 In Box.zma
*
*
C:\A Speaker Designs\Kids\Peerless 831735 In Box.frd
C:\A Speaker Designs\Kids\Peerless 831735 In Box.zma
*
*
C:\A Speaker Designs\Kids

User avatar
dlr
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Canton, MA
Contact:

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Post by dlr » Tue Aug 27, 2013 7:43 pm

I see that your file has a "*" in the empty rows. This was how some earlier versions stored unused rows. They should be totally blank. Starting from scratch may clear up the problem. I may need to look into that again. You may see "Not Yet Implemented", then 3-way if you scroll past 3-way. This is because when you select the others (such as 2.5 way, etc.), it pops up the message, then resets the selection to the last good selection (3-way if you had scrolled).

If that doesn't clear it up, download the v1.105 file again, uninstall the old and reinstall the latest. You may be one of the few with a bug accidentally introduced that is cleared. A few downloads occurred before I found the problem, but that problem hung the program, not the same symptoms, just be sure you have the latest in any case. I'd also suggest starting from scratch, start the program, load the six files and select 3-way after that. It's possible something got into the saved session file.

Send my your files, all six, in a zip if you continue to have problems. Include the problem session file. I'll see if I can replicate the problem. So far I've had no other reports of problems.

Dave

Jeff S.
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm
Location: Erie, PA

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Post by Jeff S. » Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:10 pm

Here are the files.
Attachments
3way test.zip
(33.44 KiB) Downloaded 1454 times

User avatar
dlr
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Canton, MA
Contact:

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Post by dlr » Tue Aug 27, 2013 11:30 pm

I just tested it with your files. I had to rename the base user directory to match my account, but otherwise I changed nothing. All but the midrange SPL imported, as your project file had everything listed but that. I manually imported the midrange SPL file, saved the project, reloaded and all reloaded.

I can't replicate the problem. I've never seen this occur in all of my testing.

Go to the midrange tab and ensure that it shows the file imported and that the SPL graph is properly updated. Save the project and reload. It's never failed me through many months of testing.

Dave

Jeff S.
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm
Location: Erie, PA

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Post by Jeff S. » Wed Aug 28, 2013 5:15 am

Dave, I used the load frd from the mid tab instead of on the system tab, saved it to a csp file and now it's working fine. Thanks for looking into this. Jeff

User avatar
dlr
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Canton, MA
Contact:

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Post by dlr » Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:54 am

That's what I did last night. I'll check the load from the System tab to see if there's an issue with it. I had not considered that.

Dave

Jeff S.
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm
Location: Erie, PA

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Post by Jeff S. » Fri Aug 30, 2013 7:43 pm

Was just wondering if you had a chance to try it?

User avatar
dlr
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Canton, MA
Contact:

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Post by dlr » Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:38 pm

Yes and it appears there's a problem with when data gets put into an array to save it to file. I have been testing with reloads of session files for a long time. Starting from scratch and saving at various intervals made the problem obvious. I'm going to have to take some time to be try to ensure that I get this correct before releasing an update. I'm surprised others have not reported a problem.

Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

Dave

User avatar
dlr
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Canton, MA
Contact:

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Post by dlr » Sat Aug 31, 2013 12:57 pm

I've got a fix done and ready for download. The bug fix is in v1.106 and has been tested. I found a related issue while fixing the bug that you reported. I hope I've got it all taken care of now. Let me know if you have any more issues.

Dave

Jeff S.
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm
Location: Erie, PA

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Post by Jeff S. » Sat Aug 31, 2013 4:41 pm

That other fix didn't have anything to do with the transfer function did it?

User avatar
dlr
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:16 am
Location: Canton, MA
Contact:

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Post by dlr » Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:10 pm

No. The other fix had only to do with saving the session file accurately. Long term I should make a change to code, but that has to do with quality of the code. Nothing affected the calculations as far as I'm aware. I run test files frequently while making changes to ensure that nothing in calculations breaks. That part's easy for me to see as I have set targets with complete designs that let me check quickly. The area of code affected wasn't related to any of that.

The one thing you may want to do for your confidence is verify the crossover values to ensure that any older saved files had no issues with saving that data. Reload and verify the values to be sure. I have not had any problems in this area and no reports of problems.

I usually detail changes additionally at my web site. This board is more for notification, bug reports and discussions.

Dave

Jeff S.
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm
Location: Erie, PA

Re: WinPcd V1.105

Post by Jeff S. » Sat Aug 31, 2013 7:56 pm

I just ask because when the mid frd file won’t load and I loaded it manually the transfer function didn’t work. I attributed it to the loading problem. I have used the new version without any problems.

Thanks again for all the hard work and time you’ve but into this.

Post Reply